Main,Menu,Search

Register update notification mail Add to favorite lecture list
Font Size SmallMediumLarge Print

Advanced Geotechnical Engineering
( pipatpongsa thirapong  )


Mon 5-6Session S636

Credits  Lecture:2  Exercise:0  Experiment:0 / code:70008
Update : 2014/3/19
Access Index :   
Fall Semester

Outline of lecture
Theory of plasticity is used to describe mechanical behaviors of granular materials in many engineering and industrial applications. Sand, agricultural grains and chemical particles are granule in nature. Therefore, inelastic responses of granular media are important in construction, storage and process. This course provides the advanced subject in Geomechanics and Powder mechanics to understand load transfer mechanisms and predict stress distributions. Analytical methods based on a framework of continuum mechanics are given with applications to retaining wall, slope, dune, silo and hopper.
Purpose of lecture
This lecture provides fundamental concepts of arching effect in granular media to those who are interested in design and analysis of the retained structures for appliations in Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Chemical Engineering.
Plan of lecture
1 Oct 9 (Tue) Introduction
2 Oct 22 (Mon) Stress and tractopm
3 Oct 29 (Mon) Mohr-Coulomb failure criterion
4 Nov 5 (Mon) Rotation of stress components
5 Nov 12 (Mon) Equilibrium conditions
6 Nov 19 (Mon) Soil arching
7 Nov 26 (Mon) Stress distribution in granular media stored in silo
8 Dec 3 (Mon) Stress distribution in granular media stored in hopper
9 Dec 10 (Mon) Active arch action along retaining wall
10 Dec 17 (Mon) Passive arch action across orifice
11 Jan 7 (Mon) Passive arch action in inclined channel
12 Jan 17 (Thu) Passive arch action in undercut slope
13 Jan 21 (Mon) Active arch action in granular sand heap
14 Jan 28 (Mon) Lamé-Maxwell equations of equilibrium
15 Feb 4 (Mon) Review and practice / Examination (7-8)

* Oct 15 (Mon): no class
* Oct 8 (Mon), Jan 14 (Mon): holiday
Textbook and reference
Nedderman, R.M. (2005): Statics and Kinematics of Granular Materials, Cambridge University Press, ISBN: 0-521-01907-9
Davis, R.O. & Selvadurai, A.P.S. (2005): Plasticity and Geomechanics, Cambridge University Press, 2005, ISBN: 0-521-01809-9
Related and/or prerequisite courses
None
Evaluation
report and final examination
Comments from lecturer
The content of this course was developed in 2009 after collecting knowledge about soil arching from many books and papers. I found that the topic on arch action is suitable to teach in a graduate program of the International Developmeng Engineering Department because its broaden applications can cover multi-discipline of Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Chemical Engineering. Three years have been spent to achieve experimentally realizable theories with actual engineering pratice to mining.

Page Top